The Wild Ride at Hope Credit Union!!

Cashed a little $100 check at the Hope Credit Union at 1726 Oretha C Haley Boulevard  New Orleans, LA 70113-1313, (504) 581-4673 and what occurred there really opened my eyes as to how poorly a credit union can function.

Hope Credit Union

Hope Credit Union

I’m the only customer in the bank, and one of the two tellers says can I help you?  I give her the check and my ID, and she starts to help me. Apparently she cannot finish the transaction herself, so she gives the check and my ID to the other teller. After 10 minutes of working on her computer, she states, I’m having trouble getting my computer to where it needs to be right now. I’m working on the problem, and hope to solve it shortly.

I’m thinking to myself, what is going on here. There’s three steps to cashing a check- making sure the signature is valid, checking the ID, and making sure there’s money in the account to cover the check.

10 more minutes pass, and the teller is getting a bit agitated. She informs me there is a five dollar fee for cashing the check.  I OK this charge. After 20 minutes of trying to cash the check, she tells me she’s got it together and here’s my 100 bucks. She then gives me a receipt. On this receipt is the name of the person who’s check I cashed, and their account balance.

Now that’s an invasion of the check writer’s privacy rights!  When you cash a check, you don’t get a receipt with the account owner’s name and balance on it!  She gives me the receipt and my money, says thanks and have a good day.

I leave the credit union without being asked to pay the five dollar check cashing fee. Then I call my friend whose check I cashed, and he’s really alarmed that the credit union gives out his account balance without his permission. He’s going over to the credit union with the receipt to find out how this could happen.

~ by neworleansmusicman on December 21, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
